Indiana University Presidential Transition

The Indiana University Board of Trustees has named Pamela Whitten as the university's 19th president. A visionary scholar and accomplished educator and researcher, Whitten has held a variety of leadership roles, beginning at Michigan State University and now as president of Kennesaw State University.

As IU's first female president, Whitten assumes the helm at one of the nation's leading research universities at a time of record-level research funding and philanthropic support.

"Pamela has distinguished herself as a passionate and accessible leader," trustee chair Michael Mirro said. "Her student-centered approach and proven ability to harness diverse talent and secure vital resources will help IU continue on its strong trajectory."

Whitten holds a Ph.D. in communication studies from the University of Kansas, a Master of Arts in communication from the University of Kentucky and a Bachelor of Science in management from Tulane University. She is an internationally recognized expert in the field of telemedicine. As part of her work in higher education, she additionally held leadership roles at University of Georgia and the University of Kansas Medical Center.

"Indiana University is one of our nation's finest public research universities, with a rich history, wonderful traditions and a worldwide reputation for excellence," Whitten said. "This is an especially exciting time as IU builds upon its 200 years of success, strengthening its mission of delivering outstanding education and innovative research. I'm deeply honored to be selected to lead this great university, and I look forward to working with the exceptional faculty, staff, students, alumni and friends of IU to seize the opportunities and challenges ahead, creating a better future for all of those we serve."

Whitten succeeds Michael A. McRobbie, who has served as president since 2007 with significant accomplishments.

IU's presidential transition committee, led by trustee MaryEllen Bishop, is finalizing a plan in support of the president-elect's early days in the role.

CERTIFICATE RE: VOLUNTARY DISCLOSURE Presidential Transition

The Undersigned, on behalf of The Trustees of Indiana University, hereby certifies that on April 16, 2021, Pamela Whitten was named Indiana University's 19th president, effective July 1, 2021.

Michael A. McRobbie, who has served as president since 2007, will continue through June 30, 2021.

THE TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY

By: Donald S. Lukes

Donald S. Lukes, Treasurer

April 16, 2021